Arulmigu Sarangapani Temple

The magical pot of Bhrama – Lord shiva who broke the neck of the pot – Lord Ranganatha who as Aaraamudhan also named Saarangapani’s marriage with Komalavalli represents the power of the trinity Bhrama, Vishnu and Sivan at a single place like the I which happend at Karambanoor and Kandiyur. Even then, this place is called as Bhaskara Shetram only.

The combination of some hamsam’s (ie) parts of Lord Shivan and Lord Vishnu is named as Lord Bhaskara. He has two heads and four hands. Two hands are used by him to pray Lord Shiva whereas the other two hands contain the lotus which represents Godess Mahalakshmi. Her body is of red colour, the colour of Lord Shivan and his ornaments are all of blue colour replresenting Mahavishnu.

As the powers of lord Shiva and Vishnu has combined here this place is called as Bhaskara shethram. This place paves a way to the unison of Shaiveties and Vaishnaveties.


The Moolavar of this temple is Sri Saarangapani. Aara Amudhan, Abayaryaapthamiruthan and Utthanasayi are the other names of Moolavar. Prathyaksham for Hema Maharishi. Moolavar is in Udhyoga sayana posture (ie) he appears as though is getting up from sleeping position.

Komalavalli. Also called as “Padi Thanda Pathini” ie thayaar would never (leave out) or leave away from her chamber. She has her own seperate sannadhi in this temple.


Sri Aandal – 1 Paasuram.

Periyalwar – 3 Paasurams.

Thirumizhisai Alwar – 7 Paasurams.

Boothatalwar – 2 Paasurams.

Peiyalwar – 2 Paasurams.

Nammalwar – 11 Paasurams.

Thirumangai – 25 Paasurams.

Total – 51 Paasurams.


Hema Pushkarani (Potramarai Kulam).

Cauvery Nadhi.



Vaidega Vimaanam.